Time + Play = Learning x 2

05Nov09

Eleven years ago, I was part of an integrated technology pilot program for public schools in California. I was PAID $ one-thousand-dollars and given 10 graduate credits over two years to learn and provide my students technology enhanced learning–seriously, I was the only one in my school to have two computers in the classroom!

I attended a workshop training and my personal learning was extraordinary and here is why:
I WAS GIVEN AN ENTIRE DAY (TIME) TO PRACTICE ONE PROGRAM.
I was able TO EXPLORE, TO PLAY AND TO LEARN FROM MYSELF AND MY PEERS.
My big message i want to pass on is: “Directly teach students a program/software, give them some basics and teach them some cool tools. Then give them TIME to practice, explore and play with that new program without the content for a class or two.”  In my eyes having them play with technology is THE learning for the day, then add content once they have some basics of the platform they are using.
Have students peer teach their own skills and give them more time to practice and ‘refine’ their own fluency with that tech tool/software program.
No Responses Yet to “Time + Play = Learning x 2”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

