Plugged in…tuned out ;)

27Apr10

(This is just a personal rant about upgrades of coffee shops 2.0)

Here is a twist to the 21st Century.  Internet cafés really are just that…cafés that serve a cup o’wifi with a dash of free access…Being a native from the SF Bay Area, I currently live overseas, and coming home to San Francisco is always great yet always changing, however this last visit was shocking!   How could my cute little coffee shop on the corner, right off Haight Street, where I have met so many good people, look like this!  Everyone plugged in, but not plugged into each other.  Will Internet dating actually turn into two people sitting in proximity to each other but separately browsing their own hardware while comingling shared findings on the web?   I guess I just prefer my coffee shops filled with human communication and exchangez of soft whispers to exchanges of soft-ware and plugs in my ears.  I’m just sayin….

photo: susipucci

4 Responses to “Plugged in…tuned out ;)”

  1. Fantastic photo. Is this a Starbucks?

    Wouldn’t surprise me as Startbucks has started a new campaign with their Starbucks Cards (https://www.starbucks.com/card). They now give you free WiFi when you earn so many Starbucks points by buying coffee with your Starbucks card.

    For better or for worse it brings people into the shop, they buy coffee, sit around, and get work done.

    I think coffee shops should be both a place to be “human” and a place to get some work done. What Starbucks does so well is creating spaces for both in the same area. i wish our classrooms could be more like Starbucks.

    Ah….San Fran home of the Internet….wouldn’t expect anything less. 😉

  2. 2 Susi

    Hi Jeff,
    Haha, no, not Starbucks, this is a well-lit, little mom-and-pop neighborhood place in the Haight where I used to ‘hang-out’ and meet up with people. It was our spot to ‘connect and communicate’ the options for fun that night. Coffee shops, they are still THE meeting place, and….well….there still is a lot of information getting passed around…S

  3. 3 Rick

    “Will Internet dating actually turn into two people sitting in proximity to each other but separately browsing their own hardware while comingling shared findings on the web?”

    Funny you should say this. Just the other day I was watching an old episode of “Two and a half man” and Jake was talking to his friend, who was sitting in front of him, through his computer. No words were spoken. this also got me thinking about how people will relate in the future.

    I agree with you and also prefer human interaction. Actually, it’s hard for me to conceive of anyone not preferring it.

    On a more personal note, I’ve just tagged you on my blog. 🙂

    Henrick


  1. 1 links for 2010-04-28 | Informal Learning

Leave a Reply

